Vegan Mofo #16: Canadian Thanksgiving

As many of you know my husband is Canadian so this year I decided that I would cook up a Canadian Thanksgiving, kind of a test run for the “real” Thanksgiving.  However, last week my husband was really sick so I have been postponing making dinner.  Finally last night everyone felt fine and I had everything I needed to put together our Canadian Thanksgiving dinner. 

IMG_4859

For dinner I made a Thanksgiving Tart, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Roasted Japanese Yam and Roasted Noochie Purple Cauliflower. The best part of this meal (besides eating it) was how easy it was to make.  I turned my oven on to preheat to 400F and put everything together. 

IMG_4866For the Thanksgiving Tart:

(I adapted from this recipe)

Serves 4

What You Need:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 cup onion, diced

3/4 cup celery, diced

5 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 14-ounce can white kidney beans, rinsed (reserving 1/4 cup)

3/4 cup walnuts

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 teaspoons shoyu

1-1/4 cups frozen chopped spinach

3-1/2 tablespoons apple juice sweetened dried cranberries

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 9-inch prepared spelt pie shell, thawed

1/2 tablespoon olive oil (for brushing)

1 teaspoon shoyu (for brushing)

 

What You Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onion, celery, garlic, salt, and pepper, and cook for 7 to 9 minutes until onions soften and begin to caramelize. Set aside.
  2. In a food processor, add white beans (except 1/4 reserved cup), walnuts, lemon juice, and shoyu, and pulse to lightly chop (do not purée). Remove half of chopped mixture from food processor and transfer to a large bowl.
  3. Transfer sautéed onions to the remaining mixture in food processor. Purée until smooth, scraping down sides of bowl as needed.
  4. Transfer purée to bowl with lightly chopped beans and walnut mixture. Add spinach, cranberries, thyme, and cup of reserved beans. Stir to combine and transfer to prepared pie shell, spreading evenly.
  5. Combine oil and tamari, and brush on top of pie and crust.  Bake for 35 minutes until lightly browned. 

 

IMG_4880

 

This weekend I also made Happy Herbivore’s Low Fat Chocolate Glazed Doughnuts.

IMG_4854

 

 

Don’t forget to sign up to participate in the Vegan Care Package Swap Here

Also there is a great Wild Garden Hummus Giveaway going on as well- Find out how you can win HERE

7 responses to “Vegan Mofo #16: Canadian Thanksgiving

  1. the donuts look great! so does the tart! How lucky you have an excuse to celebrate two thanksgivings!

  2. Oh wow! That Thanksgiving tart is making me super hungry!

  3. I had Brussels sprouts for the first time EVER last week and I’m in love. Delicious!

  4. Delicious!!! I love the tart idea in place of the traditional Tofurkey. I always make a Tofurkey cause I love eating the leftovers on sandwiches, but if I was doing two Thanksgivings (as you are), I’d wanna mix it up like that.

  5. Wow! Everything looks fantastic. I love purple and usually dislike cauliflower, so maybe the purpleness of it will make me more friendly to my cauliflower friends. Happy Canadian Thanksgiving and I look forward to seeing what you’ll be cooking up for American Thanksgiving next month. I should grab my friend from Texas and have her be my excuse to make another feast… 🙂

  6. Happy T’giving for last week! And those donuts look so, so good!

  7. This Thanksgiving tart looks fantastic! I might just have to make it this year 🙂

Leave a comment