Recipe Post: Quinoa Chili & Guacamole

Quinoa Chili


Quinoa is a great in this recipe as it make it really thick and “meaty”. Quinoa is great because it is filled with protein and has such a high nutritional value.  It is also great in this dish because unlike rice and other grains that would get mushy it stays nice and firm and keeps it’s shape.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 T olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1 T cumin powder
  • 1.5 t onion powder
  • 1.5 t garlic powder
  • 1 t paprika
  • 1/4 t chipotle chili powder or cayenne
  • 1 cup quinoa, uncooked
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 C nutritional yeast
  • 1- 15oz can of beans of your choice (I used haricot romanos)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes with green chilies

Directions:

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium-high heat and add the onion, saute for 5-7 minutes until the onions are nice and soft. Stir in the chili powder, cumin powder, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and chipotle chili powder.  Add the vegetable broth and the quinoa; bring to a boil and then lower to a simmer.  Simmer for 10 minutes.  Add the beans, tomatoes, cocoa powder, nutritional yeast and salt and pepper to taste.  Bring back up to a boil and then lower to a simmer for 20-30minutes, until the quinoa has finished.  Make sure to stir occasionally so that the chili does not stick to the bottom of the pan.

*This recipe makes a very thick chili if you would like yours thinner add additional vegetable broth – however taste to see if you need additional spices.

Guacamole


I served this up with some delicious guacamole and some savory Flackers from Doctor in The Kitchen that I received the other day.  These flax seed crackers are delicious, gluten free, raw and full of fiber and protein. There are three flavors: dill, rosemary and savory- I have tried the dill and savory so far and they are delicious! I think I will make some white bean dip to have the the rosemary flackers.

Click to View the Doctor in the Kitchen Website

Ingredients

2 avocados, diced

1/2 small red onion, minced

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 T lime juice

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Place all ingredients in a bowl and mash.

Pantry Challenge Update: I know I wrote in my last pantry challenge update that I would probably not be participating any longer however I decided to give it another week.  I did however pick up some additional pantry items that I needed such as beans, nuts, and non-dairy milk this week.  I also picked up spinach, bananas, and oranges.  I spent $32 total for these items make a total of $60 for the last two weeks on groceries.  We get our share tomorrow and it should include: carrots, beets, cabbage, potatoes, onions, rutabaga, turnips, parsnips, winter squash, garlic and apple cider- our share is every 2 weeks so this will last us for the rest 0f the month.

6 responses to “Recipe Post: Quinoa Chili & Guacamole

  1. That looks great! I’m always looking for new recipes for quinoa and I love chili, so this is perfect 🙂

  2. I’ve never put quinoa IN my chili… that looks delicious! I’ll have to keep that in mind for sure 🙂

  3. I love quinoa, this is a brilliant idea. Oh but the guacamole is seriously beautiful. One of my favorite things in the world…

  4. I love your recipes and tweets. So much so that I’ve made a special trip into town to buy and try quinoa

  5. Wow! That chili looks incredibly delicious and and the addition of quinoa is a stroke of genius-plus the cocoa powder-I love it! I must try this recipe asap.

    Oh and that guacamole, my mouth is watering!

    Glad I discovered your blog. Take care!

  6. Hi Lindsay, I’m a friend of “Ma & Pa” and just wanted to say the chili and guacamole pictures are making me drool. They look awesome! I don’t even cook and want to try them. Great blog!
    Maureen from AZ

Leave a Reply

