Creamy Celeriac Soup

Creamy Celeriac Soup

Serves 4 

Ingredients:

  • 1 large celeriac AKA celery root, diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • 1 t canola oil
  • 3 1/2 cups of low sodium vegetable stock
  • 1/2 cup plain soymilk
  • 1 t onion powder
  • 1 t garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 t smoked paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat, add the onions and saute 3-5 minutes until lightly browned and softened.
  • Stir in the garlic and cook for 30 seconds.
  • Add the vegetable stock and celeriac.  Bring to a boil and cover, lower heat to medium low and allow to simmer for 30 minutes. 
  • With an immersion blender or in batches to your regular blender (remember if you use a regular blender not to fill it too high with the hot liquid) and blend until smooth and creamy.
  • Add in the remaining ingredients. 

 

You should stop over to Love Veggies and Yoga to enter in Averie’s Chia Seeds giveaway! Click Here to View.

6 responses to “Creamy Celeriac Soup

  1. Yum…..celery root is going on the shopping list for next week!!!

  2. cookingforaveganlover

    I made this in the morning for dinner and it was even better at dinner after sitting all day – but isn’t soup usually better on the 2nd day (or if it just sits for awhile?) Basically what I am saying is that I recommend making this ahead of time because it’s even more delicious.

  3. thanks for the chia contest entries and your soup looks great!

  4. I love celery root but have never made an entire soup from it, just added it to other soups. This sounds really good. (I really love it roasted, too.)

  5. Yum oh yum! Ha. I linked to a somewhat similar recipe on my site today! I think this one looks easier to make though 🙂

  6. I’ve never tried celeraic, but I love celery so I bet I’d like it. BTW, the acai powder came in! Woo! I’ve been enjoying it in my raw blended “oats” every morning.

Leave a Reply

