The Skinny Pancake  located in Burlington VT and Montpelier VT is one of my new favourite places to dine.  The fact that you can go there and get vegan crepes with local fresh ingredients, local beverages (wine, beer and non-alcoholic; the root beer on tap is local and delicious) makes this one of my husband and I’s go to places.  (It helps the Montpelier location is only a few minutes walk from our place).

I have been here oh at least 3 times in the last few weeks and each time have tried something new.  The first try was the Vegan Monster House-made seitan, baby spinach, VT Wild Mushrooms, caramelized onions, and roasted red peppers served in a vegan crepe shell. VT Soy company tofu also available…$8.50.- This crepe was pretty good; I didn’t love it but I would try it again; when we tried this one the Montpelier location hadn’t been open only a few days.

Next I tried the 

Thai Noodle Crêpe

Julianned parsnips, carrots, celeriac, red peppers and onions tossed in a Thai Peanut Sauce served with Sesame Seed crêpe “noodles”…$8.50 With Vermont Soy Tofu.

 

This was to die for- just like peanut noodles but better!

 

On our last trip my husband got the Coconut Curried Potatoes
Caribbean-style curried sweet and Russet potatoes, resting on a bed of white rice and wrapped in a savory crêpe…$7.00- this was delicious the curry was amazing and over all a great choice.

And I got the The Crêpadilla
Skinny salsa avocados, and Cabot cheddar cheese, served in a folded scallion crêpe…$7.00 without the cheese obviously.  I know what you might be thinking so avocado and salsa? it was amazing! They make their own salsa which was delicious and the crepe was crispy so good.

 

Unfortunatly I think I left my camera battery charger in Toronto so we have been sans digital camera for months now (I’ve been hopping I might find it sitting around haha) but I think we are caving to either get a new one or a new charger so hopefully we will be back in the photo swing as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

